There are highways from Kota Kinabalu to distant towns all over Sabah. It is easy to find the right direction. The federal roads from Kota Kinabalu are:

Going to the Northwest part of Sabah
Kota Kinabalu – Tamparuli – Kudat

To the East Coast of Sabah
Kota Kinabalu – Tamparuli – Ranau – Sandakan (Sabah East Coast) – Tawau – Serudong (part of the Pan Borneo Highway)

Going South
Kota Kinabalu – Lawas – Brunei – Miri – Kuching – Sematan (part of the Pan Borneo Highway)

Going South-East
Kota Kinabalu – Keningau – Kalabakan – Tawau (under construction expected to be completed in late 2007

The railway, Sabah State Railway, formerly known as the North Borneo Railway, was established in 1896 by the British North Borneo Company. It was built for the main purpose of transporting goods from the interior to the port in Kota Kinabalu during the British occupation. The railway line connects Kota Kinabalu with Tenom and several other towns in between, and it is the only railway system operating in East Malaysia.
Today the railway provides daily services for commuters, travelers, as well as for cargo transportation. A separate company operates the leisure tour also called the North Borneo Railway, which caters mainly for tourists. The train station and terminus is located in Tanjung Aru.