Kota Kinabalu is the capital of the Malaysian state Sabah in East-Malaysia, which
consists of the Malaysian states Sabah and Sarawak on the island of Borneo.

City Mayor: Datuk Illiyas Ibrahimcityfacts_skjold
Administration: Dewan Bandaraya Kota Kinabalu (City Council)
Population (city): 543,765 (2008)
Urban population: approx. 1.200.000
City Day celebration: 2nd of February
Where: On the west coast of Borneo; at latitude 5.9833 and longitude 116.06667
Phone Area Code: 088 (Malaysia +86)
Post codes: 88xxx, 89xxx
Airport: Kota Kinabalu International Airport (KKIA)
Direct flights from: Kuala Lumpur, Singapore, Tokyo, Seoul, Taipei, Kaoshiung, Hong
Kong, Cebu and Brunei.
Train Stations: Kota Kinabalu Train Station and Tanjung Aru (a single 140km line to
the town Tenom)
Ports: Kota Kinabalu Port and Sepanggar Bay Port
Climate: Sabah has an equatorial tropical climate with temperatures between 20-
30°C and humidity of up to 90%. The temperature reaches rarely above 33°C (90°
F) and seldom drops below 20°C (68°F) at night. At higher altitudes, up in the
mountains areas, it can get quite cold at nights. The wettest season in Kota Kinabalu
is between October and February.
Sister Cities: Yongin, South Korea, and City of Rockingham, Australia
Others: The Malay word for “fort” or “city” is Kota. A direct translation of the name
‘Kota Kinabalu’ into English is therefore ‘City of Kinabalu’ or ‘Kinabalu City’.